Football Writers’ Association awards Haaland and Kerr

Erling Haaland was named ” Footballer of the Year” in England for his outstanding freshman season with Manchester City, and Chelsea striker Sam Kerr became the first woman to win the accolade twice in a row on Friday.


According to the Football Writers’ Association, Haaland received 82% of the vote, topping out Arsenal teammates Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard.


The 22-year-old Norwegian international has 51 goals in all competitions to help City contend for the Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League championships. He set a Premier League record with 35 goals in one season.


Kerr won her second FWA award in a row after defeating Aston Villa forward Rachel Daly and Chelsea teammate Lauren James.   


The 29-year-old Australian international has 26 goals in 34 club appearances for Chelsea this season, which faces Manchester United in the FA Cup final on Sunday. The club additionally made it to the Champions League semifinals but was eliminated against Barcelona. 


The Women’s Award was established in 2018. The awards will be handed out on March 25 at the FWA dinner event in London.

Post a Comment

You don't have permission to register